La Santa Sport – Training Camp

I have just returned from twelve days at La Santa Sport – Lanzarote . I trained with a mixed team of masters swimmers from various clubs under the direction of coach Tim . It’s always different to swim with a new coach and also with new team mates . What FUN we had . The training was two two hour sessions each day in the outdoor 50 m pool . The sessions were very different from my usual sessions at Swiss Cottage but sometimes different is good . Each day my routine was up 7 am ish breakfast ( porridge and coffee) training 9-11am , another small breakfast , then relax around the leisure pool then another pre training snack around 4pm and back in the pool 5-7pm . The day  was finished off with a chilled evening of great company and good food . The main aim for me of the training camp was to swim lots , eat well , relax and regain my enthusiasm for swimming . It was a great success , I swam a total distance of 88,400k in twelve days . Most days I swam between 9,5-10k , I did take a few sessions off in order for my body to recover . I had slight pain in my right shoulder but received excellent physio care from my room-mate Judy  ( very handy) . I am now back training at Swiss cottage and also the Lido , my first lake swim this year is in ten days , BLDSA Wykenham Lake 5 K , I am excited at the moment ( this may change nearer the date ) watch this space

About swimmingnuala

Current Open Water Swimmer , Qualified ASA Teacher & Coach , former British International Distance freestyler , current Masters Record Holder GB & European . I am currently Teaching swimming at all levels Children and Adults , Coaching swimmers at all levels Children and Adults. I also coach swimmers who are new to Open Water swimming. My committment and enthusiasm for swimming is never ending and I am always willing to share
This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment